

Adventures in Learning's 25th Anniversary Committee Report 2022-2023

Celebrating Our Past -Investing in Our Future

Throughout the year, the committee focused on four areas: programming, publicity, fundraising and celebration planning. We began meeting in September 2022, followed by monthly meetings until our special celebration on June 8, 2023 in Wheeler Hall at Colby-Sawyer College (CSC). Special events and small celebrations continued throughout 2023, and we plan to launch more learning and good fun in 2024!

Programming

In addition to our usual course offerings each term we had a number of new study leaders, as well as many popular repeat study leaders, all offering a variety of compelling courses. The Curriculum Committee with the strong support of the AIL office and other committees continues to be the Heart of Adventures in Learning!

A new Community Spotlight Series was introduced by Carol Emanuelson, kicked off by a fascinating conversation with slides between Jim Perkins, New London Archivist and Debbie Perkins (no relation) of this area during the WWII years. This inaugural presentation was followed by four additional spotlights featuring Gordon Terwilliger, Tom Paul, Kathy Lowe Bloch and Peter Bloch, and a joint collaboration with the New England Healing Sports Association (NEHSA) to present a riveting lecture, "The Last Traverse" about winter hiking in the White Mountains.

We've returned to Woodcrest Village Assisted Living, where David Click gave a moving and wellattended presentation on "Music for the Coronation." We also enjoyed two wonderful field trips: one to the MFA to see the Hokusai Exhibit, and the other to Portsmouth, NH, for a delightful Gundalow sail.

Publicity

For all events, publicity was handled by the Communications Committee and the AIL office. This included designing our 25th Anniversary Logo with the help of the CSC marketing team, advertising in *Horizons*, *Noteworthy News*, *The Intertown Record*, and *Daybreak*.

At the end of this 25th Anniversary year, there are plans to compile a beautiful keepsake commemorative publication with photos and important milestones, including the beautiful posters documenting AIL's history and the donors to our first capital campaign displayed at the June celebration.

Fundraising

Betsy Boege, Mary Doyle, Janet Miller Haines, Jane Van Bremen, Dick Showalter, Harry Tether, Tracey Austin, Dan Parish, Carol Kinzler, and Katrina Wagner formed a subgroup of the larger committee.

In 2021 an AIL task Force prepared Vison 2026, a strategic plan charting a path for AIL's foreseeable future. A fundraising goal of \$50,000 was established to provide resources to advance the Vision 2026 goals: technology upgrades, presence in the Kearsarge-Lake Sunapee community, and classroom

enhancements. We now have very inviting and easy-to-move desks and chairs in our classroom as a result of these efforts!

Due to incredible generosity, our original fundraising goal was later revised to \$80,000 and was exceeded thanks to gifts from members, friends, businesses and CSC.

The Celebration

Wheeler Hall was beautifully decorated with flowers and blue, white and silver balloons, tall and low tables, and soft furniture. Delicious hors d'oeuvres and special anniversary drinks were prepared by CSC and enjoyed by all who attended: approximately 140 members, donors, and college staff.

The New London Barn Playhouse's summer interns, "The Barnies," provided us with a taste of their singing and dancing talents. A beautiful photo retrospective, "AIL Through the Years," prepared by Joan Eaton and Maureen Rosen, brought back fond memories. Remarks by Colby-Sawyer College President Sue Stuebner and AIL President Harry Tether highlighted the close and mutually beneficial relationship between the two organizations. AIL Vice President Katrina Wagner thanked Harry for his dedicated service and then invited Hilary Cleveland (who first proposed the idea of AIL) to make a few remarks. A plaque was commissioned for the AIL classroom to honor AIL's Founding members: Charles Carey, Hilary Cleveland, Allan and Mary Doyle, Sue and Dick Eaton, Bob and Susie Gray, Julien and Pricilla LeBourgeios, Deniza and Dick Martin, Peter and Jean McKee, and Carolyn and Dick Sweetland.

Members of the 25th Anniversary Committee: Tracey Austin, Mary Doyle, Carol Emanuelson, Abby Hutchinson, Bruce Hutchinson, Sarah Jenness, Carol Kinzler, Susan Lynn, Scott Rappeport, Pat Stewart, Harry Tether, Nina Tasi, and Katrina Wagner, Chair.